In this article:
- Why Skillshare Classes Are Moderated
- The Moderation Process
- Monitoring Violations
- Monitoring Class Engagement
Why Skillshare Classes Are Moderated
Skillshare is intended to be a safe, educational, and engaging community. For this reason, classes published to the platform are moderated daily to ensure adherence to our Class Quality Guidelines, Community Guidelines, and Teaching Policies. We reserve the right to remove any content posted to the platform that we deem to be in opposition to this stated intention or otherwise conflicts with our mission.
The Moderation Process
To ensure all classes meet our guidelines, Skillshare’s team of moderators reviews every new class that is submitted. If we find any violations in your class, you’ll receive an email within 72 hours of publishing it, and your class will be closed, which means students will no longer be able to access it. In some cases, you may have the opportunity to make updates to your class in accordance with our guidelines. From there, our team will re-review your class and reopen it to students if possible. Classes that are not reopened may be permanently deleted by the Skillshare team after 90 days.
Skillshare has a three-strike system for violations of our Class and Teaching Guidelines. If a violation is found, it is recorded internally. After a Skillshare user receives 3 strikes, our moderators review the total account history of the user and the timeline in which the strikes occurred.
Strikes are rolled back on a 6-month basis, meaning that in order to have your account closed for a violation of our Guidelines, all 3 strikes must have been issued within a 6-month period.
If a class is removed due to content violations, that class will not be accessible to students and the teacher will no longer be eligible to receive payments for the removed class. Teachers who have had content removed may still use their accounts as a student and participate in others’ classes and discussions. However, if a teacher receives three strikes in a six-month period, these privileges may be revoked.
In cases of impersonation, illegal, or fraudulent activity, users may have all of their content or entire profiles removed without any strikes being issued. For more information, please visit our Terms of Service.
Monitoring Class Engagement
Effective June 2022, Moderation regularly reviews all classes to determine if they meet our engagement requirement for classes older than one year. Here is how the process works:
- If one of your classes does not meet the requirement, the Moderation team will reach out to you directly at the email address associated with your teaching account.
- You will be given 30 days notice before the class is closed. In that time, you may promote the class to try and meet the requirement and keep the class open. A closed class will no longer be discoverable by students, but you will be able to see it as Closed in your list of Classes You’re Teaching on Skillshare.
- Keep in mind that we will regularly review classes, so you will need to continue promoting engagement in a class to keep it open in the long term.
If you feel a negative review is unfair or inaccurate, please let our Moderation team know when they reach out to you.
Please also keep in mind that our Trust & Safety team conducts regular checks for fraudulent activity (e.g. duplicate accounts for the same person watching a class to increase minutes), and any minutes accrued in this way, or through any means which violate our terms or teaching policies, are regularly closed.
If you have any questions at all about Skillshare’s Class Quality Guidelines or moderation process, email the Teacher Support team at firstname.lastname@example.org, and we’ll get back to you as soon as possible.